Basis IOL + AddOn IOL = Liberty²

In an ever aging and increasingly active society, more and more cataract patients and presbyopic people (who still have a clear lens) are desirous of independence from spectacles to the greatest extent possible. Liberty², the formula for independence from spectacles after refractive lens exchange, does now allow ophthalmic surgeons to treat their patients in an individual and economically calculable manner with high refractive precision: This dual-lens system offers the highest degree of therapeutic freedom and helps provide Optimal, Natural Vision (ONV) after artificial lens implantation for those concerned.

This is achieved by an intelligent combination of two intraocular lenses (IOLs): In a Liberty² procedure, the surgeon implants a Basis IOL into the capsular bag, plus a trifocal AddOn IOL into the ciliary sulcus. Based on the large variety of possible combinations associated with this system, the highest degree of individual patient care so far can be attained. The two artificial lenses may be implanted simultaneously during one single procedure or by two separate surgical interventions. Liberty² constitutes the latest surgical module for the treatment of presbyopia.

Why two lenses, if one would do?

Both the patients and the ophthalmologists in charge are benefitting from the large variety of combinations when two lenses are used. Ultimately, the dual-lens system offers a broad spectrum of highly individualised refractive power values, achievable with just a few Basis and AddOn lenses. Theoretically, over 3.420 values of total refractive power may be generated with a range of 121 IOLs. Consequently, this allows for both doctors’ offices and clinics to ensure availability of refractive solutions at any time for each and every single patient and to perform procedures with multifocal lenses at short notice. Besides, the costly standby process is no longer an issue.

Coincidentally, the individually most appropriate combination of visual functions needed for Optimal, Natural Vision with high refractive precision is achieved for the patient. Thereby, the visual functions needed may be assigned to two lenses, while the lens powers may be combined in a smart way. The result being:  Good vision at close and far distances, plus in the intermediate range – and all this without spectacles.

The Functional Principle

The functional principle of the dual-lens system can best be explained by way of comparison: The structural composition of the human eye resembles the technical design of a modern high-precision camera. Such an optical device is provided with a photographic objective that bundles and refracts the incoming light. In the human eye, figuratively, the cornea assumes this function. A diaphragm is located behind the photographic objective, regulating the amount of incoming light, just like the pupil aperture of the eye. Ultimately, the bundled and regulated light beams are hitting a light-sensitive area, similar to the retina, where the visual image is formed.

The lenses of the human eye provide image sharpness by focusing on the light-sensitive area, just like a photographic camera does. The higher the number of lenses in the photographic objective or in the human eye, respectively, the better results the focal adjustment comprising both the environment and the distance to the targeted image motif. 

Liberty2 pursues this principle. The second lens, the so-called AddOn IOL, is adding the desirable visual functions needed for sharp vision at short and intermediate distances (the typical PC distance).

Four Crucial Benefits

Individuality: The personal preferences, needs and medical requirements can better be met by applying two lenses. The trifocal AddOn IOL enables the surgeon to offer custom-made combinations for optimised vision at near and intermediate distances. 

High precision: Due to the broad spectrum of refractive power values and the numerous options for corrections spread over four ocular interfaces with a dual-lens system (as compared to just two interfaces), the required lens-power values may be assessed more precisely. This allows for correction of refractive errors with very high precision.

Non-traumatic reversibility: The trifocal part of the dual-lens system is located on the AddOn lens. As this "additive" lens is placed into the ciliary sulcus, a space between iris and Basis IOL, it may be removed at any time in the event of a potential intolerance or any refractive shift. Contrary to a Basis lens in the capsular bag, the sulcus-fixated lens may be exchanged quite non-traumatically, even many years after the original procedure.

Calculability: 1stQ does not just sell artificial lenses, but promotes the Optimal, Natural Vision. That is why Liberty2 has one price – irrespective of the lenses to be combined or of the properties the desired lens combination is supposed to have. When using Liberty2, the costs of lens exchange are transparent and may be assessed quite easily.

Liberty²

Who is the ideal candidate for Liberty²?

Ophthalmic surgeons implant Liberty² during the course of cataract procedures, but also in pre-cataract phases of patients. The dual-lens system is primarily indicated for people who are in their second half of life and whose degree of suffering is permanently increasing because of the age-related changes in the crystalline lens and the associated visual impairment.

Especially in cases where patients feel uncomfortable with spectacles in this situation, the application of Liberty² constitutes a sustainable solution. The permanent manipulation with glasses for reading, distance vision, progressive spectacles and sunglasses, to start with, plus challenges such as combining spectacles with the use of a motorcycle helmet, all of these spectacle-related inconveniences are things of the past, once the dual-lens system has been implanted. People concerned need no longer get annoyed at fogged lenses or slipping eyeglasses during sportive activities. Presbyopia patients feeling impaired by the optical aid device are given a chance to distinctly improve their visual comfort and to cope with their daily routine carefree even.

Moreover, the dual-lens system is particularly suited for people who are unhappy with their visual function despite spectacle correction and who are not willing to accept this situation any longer: Also for these patients, Liberty² will help provide Optimal, Natural Vision leading to a distinctly improved quality of life.

This is what Experts say about Liberty²

In many eye doctors’ offices and clinics Liberty² has become an important therapeutic module for the treatment of presbyopia.

The Liberty² optic with its progressive trifocal array is just great. The options to combine the two lenses are providing a high degree of adaptability to cope with refractive situations. Both handling and safety of the system are convincing.

Prof. Gangolf Sauder, MD, Head of Charlottenklinik für Augenheilkunde, Stuttgart/Germany

I feel comfortable with the offensive approach: a planned 2-step trifocality with Basis IOL in the capsular bag and the AddOn trifocal in the sulcus. The superindication for this technique is RLE or post lasic cataract surgery. Refractive surprises shall be avoided completely.

Kjell Gunnar Gundersen, MD, IFOCUS Eyeclinic Haugesund/Norway

I am convinced of this concept. Liberty² enables me to provide my patients with the best trifocal eye care currently available. It offers the option for lens exchange or retrofit at any time in the event of whatever kind of intolerance or improvements as future technologies emerge. This is its most important benefit in my opinion.

Thomas Kohm, MD, Argus Augenklinik, Karlsruhe/Germany
Once the first enthusiastic Liberty² patients had shown up with excellent results, we felt encouraged to further promote the dual-lens system, even for clear-lens patients. Liberty² enables me to provide quite individual care for my patients in the future. 
Harald Gäckle, MD, Augenlaserzentrum Neu-Ulm/Germany

I have tried it on myself, so I now have Liberty² in both eyes. I am getting along well again without spectacles in all circumstances. This gives me a new kind of life awareness with a feeling of freedom after many years of constraints with varifocal glasses.

Rüdiger Dworschak, Graduate Engineer, Founder and CEO of 1stQ

Liberty² for Download

In the download area, physicians and patients will find comprehensive information material on Liberty². You may download documents such as brochures, data sheets and the latest publications.

Information material

Any questions as to Liberty²? In this case, please contact your sales rep.

Optimales, Natürliches Sehen mit
Liberty²

5 Sehfunktionen sind dafür notwendig!

Warum tragen Sie eigentlich noch eine Brille?

Drucken Sie sich alle Infos zu Liberty2 aus und sprechen Sie Ihren Augenarzt darauf an.

Basis IOL + AddOn IOL = Liberty²

In einer zunehmend älter und aktiver werdenden Gesellschaft hegen immer mehr Menschen mit Alterssichtigkeit (Presbyopie) den Wunsch nach größtmöglicher Brillenunabhängigkeit. Mit Liberty², der Formel für mehr Brillenunabhängigkeit nach dem refraktiven Linsentausch, können chirurgisch tätige Augenärzte ihre Presbyopie-Patienten nun auf individuelle, punktgenaue und wirtschaftlich kalkulierbare Weise behandeln: Das Zweilinsensystem bietet ein Höchstmaß an chirurgischer Therapiefreiheit und verhilft Betroffenen zum Optimalen, Natürlichen Sehen (ONS) nach der Kunstlinsenimplantation.

Dafür sorgt die intelligente Kombination aus zwei Intraokularlinsen (IOL): Beim Liberty²-Verfahren implantiert der Operateur eine Basis IOL in den Kapselsack sowie eine progressiv-trifokale AddOn IOL in den Sulkus. Aufgrund der damit einhergehenden Kombinationsvielfalt wird mit dem Zweilinsensystem die nach heutigem Stand individuellste Patientenversorgung ermöglicht. Die Implantation der beiden Kunstlinsen kann simultan im Rahmen einer einmaligen Operation erfolgen oder in zwei separaten Eingriffen. Liberty² ist der zeitgemäße chirurgische Baustein zur Behandlung der Altersfehlsichtigkeit.

Warum zwei Linsen, wenn es doch auch eine tut?

Von der großen Kombinationsvielfalt zweier Linsen profitieren sowohl die Patienten als auch ihre behandelnden Ärzte. Das Zweilinsensystem bietet schließlich eine große Bandbreite hoch individualisierbarer Brechkraftwerte, die mit nur wenigen Basis- und AddOn Linsen erreicht werden kann. Theoretisch lassen sich mit 121 IOLs über 3420 refraktive Gesamtbrechkraftwerte erzeugen. Somit ergibt sich für Praxen und Kliniken die Möglichkeit, die Verfügbarkeit refraktiver Lösungen für jeden einzelnen Patienten jederzeit sicherzustellen und Multifokallinsen-OPs bei Bedarf kurzfristig durchzuführen. Auch das aufwendige Standby-Prozedere kann entfallen.

Gleichzeitig wird für den Patienten die individuell sinnvollste Kombination aus Sehfunktionen erreicht, die für Optimales, Natürliches Sehen und eine refraktive Punktlandung notwendig ist. Dabei können die benötigten Sehfunktionen auf zwei Linsen verteilt und Linsenstärken smart miteinander kombiniert werden. Das Ergebnis: Gutes Sehen in der Nähe, in der Ferne sowie im intermediären Bereich – und zwar ohne Brille.

Die Funktionsweise

Die Funktionsweise des Zweilinsensystems lässt sich anhand eines Vergleichs anschaulich erklären: Der Aufbau unseres Auges ähnelt dem einer modernen Präzisionskamera. Diese verfügt unter anderem über ein Objektiv, das mithilfe eines Linsensystems das einfallende Licht bündelt und bricht. Im Auge übernimmt die Hornhaut diese Aufgabe. Hinter dem Objektiv befindet sich die Blende, die ebenso wie die Pupille die Lichtmenge reguliert. Diese trifft letztlich auf eine netzhautähnliche lichtempfindliche Fläche, auf der das Bild entsteht.

Wie bei der Kamera sorgen auch im Auge die Linsen für die Bildschärfe. Je mehr Linsen im Objektiv bzw. im Auge vorhanden sind, desto besser kann das optische System auf die Umgebung und die Entfernung zum anvisierten Motiv abgestimmt werden. 

Diesem Prinzip folgt Liberty2. Mithilfe der zweiten Linse, der sog. AddOn, werden die gewünschten und benötigten Sehfunktionen für das scharfe Sehen in der Nähe und in der mittleren Distanz (PC-Distanz) hinzugefügt.

Vier entscheidende Vorteile

Individuell: Mithilfe von zwei Linsen kann besser auf die persönlichen Wünsche, Bedürfnisse und medizinischen Voraussetzungen der Patienten eingegangen werden. Die progressiv-trifokalen AddOn, die es in drei unterschiedlichen Additionen gibt, erlaubt es dem Operateur maßgeschneiderte Kombinationen für das optimierte Nah- und Intermediärsehen anzubieten. 

Punktgenau: Durch die große Bandbreite an Brechkraftwerten und die zahlreichen optischen Korrekturmöglichkeiten, die im Zweilinsensystem anstatt auf zwei auf vier Grenzflächen im Auge verteilt werden, lassen sich die benötigten Linsenwerte präziser berechnen und Fehlsichtigkeiten punktgenau korrigieren.

Atraumatisch reversibel: Der progressiv-trifokale Teil des Zweilinsensystems ist auf der AddOn Linse lokalisiert. Da diese "additive" Linse in den Sulkus, einem Hohlraum zwischen Iris und Basislinse, eingesetzt wird, kann sie bei einer etwaig auftretenden Unverträglichkeit oder bei jeglichem refraktiven Shift jederzeit wieder entfernt werden. Im Gegensatz zu einer Basislinse im Kapselsack lässt sich die Sulkuslinse auch noch viele Jahre nach dem Eingriff atraumatisch austauschen.

Kalkulierbar: 1stQ verkauft keine Kunstlinsen, sondern das Optimale, Natürliche Sehen. Deshalb hat Liberty² einen Preis – ganz gleich, welche Linsen miteinander kombiniert werden oder über welche Eigenschaften die gewünschte Linsenkombination verfügen soll. Mit Liberty² sind die Kosten für den Linsentausch transparent und ganz einfach im Voraus zu berechnen.

Liberty²

Rüdiger Dworschak über seine persönliche Erfahrung mit Liberty²

Rüdiger Dworschak, Gründer und geschäftsführender Gesellschafter von 1stQ, hat das Zweilinsensystem Liberty² entwickelt. Welch großer Leidensdruck mit altersbedingten Linsenveränderungen und der damit verbundenen Brillenabhängigkeit einhergeht, weiß er aus eigener Erfahrung. Er ließ sich Liberty² selbst implantieren und lebt seither brillenfrei.

Für wen ist Liberty² besonders geeignet?

Implantiert wird Liberty² von operierenden Augenärzten im Rahmen von Katarakt OPs sowie bei Patienten in jeglichen Präkataraktstadien. Geeignet ist das Zweilinsensystem vor allem für Menschen in der zweiten Lebenshälfte, deren Leidensdruck aufgrund der altersbedingten Veränderung der natürlichen Linsen und der damit einhergehenden Sehverschlechterung kontinuierlich steigt.

Insbesondere wenn Patienten die Brille in dieser Situation als Belastung empfinden, stellt der Einsatz von Liberty² eine nachhaltige Lösung dar. Angefangen beim permanenten Hantieren mit Lese-, Fern-, Gleitsicht- und Sonnenbrille bis hin zur Herausforderung, Brille und Motorradhelm zu kombinieren, gehören sämtliche brillenbedingte Beeinträchtigungen nach der Implantation des Zweilinsensystems der Vergangenheit an. Über beschlagene Brillengläser oder das Verrutschen der Brille bei sportlichen Aktivitäten müssen sich Betroffene dann nicht mehr länger ärgern. Presbyopie-Patienten, die sich durch die Sehhilfe eingeschränkt fühlen, erhalten die Möglichkeit, ihren Sehkomfort deutlich zu erhöhen und den Alltag sogar wieder unbeschwert zu bewältigen.

Das Zweilinsensystem ist darüber hinaus prädestiniert für Menschen, die trotz Brillenkorrektur mit ihrer Sehleistung unzufrieden sind und sich mit dieser Situation nicht mehr abfinden möchten: Liberty² kann auch diesen Patienten zum Optimalen, Natürlichen Sehen und damit zu einer deutlich erhöhten Lebensqualität verhelfen.

Das sagen Experten über Liberty²

In vielen Praxen und Kliniken hat sich Liberty² bereits zu einem wichtigen therapeutischen Baustein der Presbyopie-Behandlung entwickelt.

Im David J Apple Laboratory an der Universitäts-Augenklinik in Heidelberg haben wir die Liberty² Optik an der optischen Bank untersucht. Hierbei haben wir festgestellt, dass durch die zusätzlichen Grenzflächen im Vergleich zu klassischen MIOL hinsichtlich der optischen Qualität keinerlei Einbußen auftreten. Der Vorteil der Liberty² Optik besteht darin, dass die Multifokalität prinzipiell reversibel ist und individuell auf die Bedürfnisse des Patienten abgestimmt werden kann.

Prof. Dr. Ramin Khoramnia, Universitäts-Augenklinik, Heidelberg

Das Konzept hat mich überzeugt. Mit Liberty² bin ich in der Lage meinen Patienten die aktuell beste trifokale Versorgung ihrer Augen zukommen zu lassen. Der entscheidende Vorteil ist, dass bei jeglicher Art von Unverträglichkeit oder einer zukünftig besseren Technologie ein Austausch bzw. ein Nachrüsten jederzeit möglich ist.

Dr. Thomas Kohm, Argus Augenklinik, Karlsruhe

Die Liberty² Optik mit dem progressiv-trifokalen Array ist einfach gut. Durch die Kombinationsmöglichkeiten der zwei Linsen besteht eine hohe Anpassungsfähigkeit an refraktive Situationen. Handling und Sicherheit des Systems sind überzeugend.

Prof. Gangolf Sauder, Chefarzt Charlottenklinik für Augenheilkunde, Stuttgart
Nachdem erste begeisterte Liberty² -Patienten mit sehr guten Ergebnissen kamen, haben wir beschlossen das Zweilinsensystem weiter zu forcieren - auch bei Clear Lens Patienten. Ich kann meine Patienten künftig sehr individuell mit Liberty² versorgen.
Dr. Harald Gäckle, Augenlaserzentrum Neu-Ulm

Die Implantation von Liberty², Basis IOL und AddOn in einem Eingriff, funktioniert problemlos und die Zentrierung der AddOn im Sulkus ist wirklich gut. Das Zweilinsensystem von 1stQ ist ab sofort fester Bestandteil der OP-Patientenaufklärung in unserer Praxis.

Dr. Ulrich Berens, Karlsruhe

Ich hab’s probiert und habe nun Liberty² in beiden Augen. Ich komme in allen Lebenslagen wieder komplett ohne Brille klar. Das gibt mir ein neues Lebensgefühl von Freiheit nach vielen Jahren der Einschränkung mit Gleitsichtbrille.

Dipl.-Ing. Rüdiger Dworschak, Gründer und CEO 1stQ

Liberty² zum Downloaden

Im Downloadbereich finden Ärzte und Patienten umfassendes Informationsmaterial über Liberty². Herunterladen können Sie unter anderem Broschüren, Datenblätter und aktuelle Publikationen.

Infomaterial

Sie haben Fragen zu Liberty²? Dann lassen Sie uns einfach eine Nachricht über unser Kontakt-Formular zukommen.